Major Arcana – An Album

After putting it off for a while I’ve finally decided to attempt writing a full album. I’ve decided it’s going to be made up of 8-10 tracks which will be demo-recorded and written at home, then mixed and mastered at college.

I’m aiming for kind of an emo/pop punk vibe mainly but with some less generic things added, taking influence from metal and djent genres for a couple of the heavier tracks. I might try and wiggle in some electronic and synthesised elements here and there but I highly doubt it would work unless I combined it with metal to make metal-core.

I decided to call the album major Arcana because I’m using the 22 major arcana cards in my deck of tarot cards to come up with lyrical ideas. At present I’m debating to either randomise the cards or think through the combinations, there are 22 major Arcana cards, if I wanted to use them all then I could either do,

  • 11 tracks (2 cards each)
  • 6 tracks (4 each)

This doesn’t sound practical at all so I’m probably going to use elements and meanings of each card somewhere in a track but perhaps some less pronounced than others, for example I could use the High Priestess Card for the most part of a song but use The Fool for lyrical ideas for a middle 8 of the song.

Why Tarot? I hear you not asking. Well, Tarot cards are described on www.thoughtco.com as the following;

Tarot cards are one of many forms of divination. They are commonly used to measure potential outcomes and evaluate influences surrounding a person, an event, or both.

With that being said, each and every Tarot card has a meaning, symbolism or a story you could possibly come up with regarding the graphic used. Here is an example;

Magician Tarot Card Meanings tarot card meaning

Card I (02/72) The Magician

The Magician is associated with the planet, Mercury and carries with it skill, logic, and intellect. The number of the Magician is one, the number of beginnings. The Magician is the bridge between the world of the spirit and the world of humanity.From biddytarot.com

A person can read as many books as they want about tarot, but the cards are mere tools for us to use as people. The true “magic” comes from us, the people who use them. You can assign your own meanings to tarot cards (within reason), as many people have different perspectives and outlooks on the symbolism used. The black cat sat under the queen of wands could mean bad luck looming to one person, or the taming of a persons misfortune to another. This makes the deck more personal and gives it a personal connection to the reader.

There is a remaining 50 cards left for the minor arcana section (72 cards total), and I will probably use them to generate lyrical meanings and ideas in the future, but for now I plan on keeping it simple and use the 22 most important cards in the Rider Waite Tarot Deck.

I’ll be sure to keep you guys up to date on what I do! I’ll probably post some samples and previews on here if I’m able to! I’m aiming to get this released next year so I’m pretty excited about this whole experience.

As always I hope you’re all well and I’ll see you guys later! x

~James

Leave a Reply

